Samlingsboxen “Magnum: Great Adventure – The Jet Years 1978-1983” släpps i augusti

Den 25:e augusti släpper bolaget Cherry Red Records en samlingsbox med klassiska Magnum som fått namnet “Great Adventure – The Jet Years 1978-1983″.

Så här går att läsa i ett pressmeddelande:

Magnum originally formed in Birmingham in 1972 around guitarist and songwriter Tony Clarkin and singer Bob Catley. Although a one-off single for CBS in 1975 failed to bring their singular brand of progressive but highly melodic hard rock to the masses, they eventually found a home for their debut – ‘Kingdom Of Madness’ (CD1) – on Jet Records in 1978, joining ELO, and later Ozzy Osbourne. The album had actually been recorded two years earlier, but the band were heavy enough to take advantage of the growth in popularity of hard rock and heavy metal in the late 1970s.

‘Magnum II’ (CD3) followed in 1979, promoted by the singles ‘Changes’ and ‘Foolish Heart’. Produced by Ten Years After’s Leo Lyons, who had previously produced UFO’s first three albums for Chrysalis. Regular touring with the likes of Judas Priest and Blue Öyster Cult built up a loyal following across the UK.

When their second album didn’t quite match the success of their debut, Jet recorded their December 1979 show at London’s legendary Marquee Club for release as a live
album. ‘Marauder’ (CD4) made a suitable stop-gap until Magnum’s third studio record, and is expanded here with a further nine live bonus tracks.

Although recorded in 1980, ‘Chase The Dragon’ (CD5) didn’t get released until 1982. An early career peak, as well as one of the band’s formative masterpieces, the wait was well worth it, as it entered the UK Top 20, peaking at a creditable No. 17.

‘Eleventh Hour’ (CD6), their fourth and final studio album for Jet, was released in 1983. Tellingly it was their first not to feature any singles.

After leaving Jet, Magnum went from strength to strength, releasing their best seller, ‘On A Storyteller’s Night’, in 1985, before signing a major label deal with Polydor Records.



Kingdom Of Madness (1978)
1 In The Beginning
2 Baby Rock Me
3 Universe
4 Kingdom Of Madness
5 All That Is Real
6 The Bringer
7 Invasion
8 Lords Of Chaos
9 All Come Together


Archive (1974-1976)
1 Sea Bird (1974 Demo)
2 Stormbringer (1974 Demo)
3 Slipping Away (1974 Demo)
4 Captain America (1974 Demo)
5 Master Of Disguise (Kingdom of Madness session outtake)
6 Without Your Love (Kingdom of Madness session outtake)
7 Find The Time (Kingdom of Madness session outtake)
8 Everybody Needs (Kingdom of Madness session outtake)
9 Kingdom Of Madness (Alternative Version)


Magnum II (1979)
1 Great Adventure
2 Changes
3 The Battle
4 If I Could Live Forever
5 Reborn
6 So Cold The Night
7 Foolish Heart
8 Stayin’ Alive
9 Firebird
10 All Of My Life
Bonus Tracks
11 Lonesome Star
12 Changes (Remix Version)
13 Everybody Needs
14 Changes (Live)
15 Foolish Heart (Acoustic Version)


Marauder (1980)
1 If I Could Live Forever
2 The Battle
3 Foolish Heart
4 In The Beginning
5 Reborn
6 Changes
7 So Cold The Night
8 Lords Of Chaos
Bonus Tracks
9 All Of My Life (Magnum Live EP)
10 Great Adventure (Magnum Live EP)
11 Invasion (Magnum Live EP)
12 Kingdom Of Madness (Magnum Live EP)
13 Reborn (Invasion Live)
14 Changes (Invasion Live)
15 All Of My Life (Invasion Live)
16 Invasion (Invasion Live)
17 Kingdom Of Madness (Invasion Live)


Chase The Dragon (1982)
1 Soldier Of The Line
2 On The Edge Of The World
3 The Spirit
4 Sacred Hour
5 Walking The Straight Line
6 We All Play The Game
7 The Teacher
8 The Lights Burned Out
Bonus Tracks
9 Back To Earth
10 Hold Back Your Love
11 Soldier Of The Line (Invasion Live)
12 Sacred Hour (Invasion Live)
13 Long Days, Black Nights
14 The Lights Burned Out (Archive)
15 The Spirit (Invasion Live)
16 Soldier Of The Line (Acoustic Version)


Eleventh Hour (1983)
1 The Prize
2 Breakdown
3 The Great Disaster
4 Vicious Companions
5 So Far Away
6 Hit And Run
7 One Night Of Passion
8 The Word
9 Young And Precious Souls
10 Road To Paradise
Bonus Tracks
11 The Word (Alternative Orchestral Version)
12 True Fine Love (Outtake)
13 The Prize (Acoustic Version)
14 One Night Of Passion (Acoustic Version)

Lämna ett svar