Boxen “Alcatrazz: Rock Justice, Complete Recordings 1983-1986” släpps i januari 2024

Den 26:e januari 2024 släpps en samlingsbox med det klassiska bandet Alcatrazz som går under namnet “Rock Justice, Complete Recordings 1983-1986”. Så här går att läsa i ett pressmeddelande:

• For Fans Of: Graham Bonnet, Yngwie J Malmsteen, Steve Vai and Rainbow.
• Featuring Alcatrazz’s three studio albums with bonus tracks.
• Plus a CD of rare and unreleased material and mixes.

Singer Graham Bonnet had already enjoyed a long career that included The Marbles, Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, the Michael Schenker Group plus a number of solo albums, when Alcatrazz came together in 1983. Formed by Bonnet, former New England and Warrior members Jimmy Waldo on keyboards, and Gary Shea on bass, and with a line-up completed by Jan Uvena on drums, ‘No Parole From Rock ‘N’ Roll’ (CD1) is notable for the first mainstream success of Swedish lead guitarist Yngwie J. Malmsteen, having previously appeared on the eponymous LP by LA rockers Steeler. Then only 20 years old, Malmsteen and Bonnet created a strong musical partnership and writing team, particularly on the singles ‘Island In The Sun’ and ‘Hiroshima Mon Amour’, both of which received heavy rotation on MTV in the States and gaining them huge acclaim as far afield as Japan.

When Yngwie left in 1984 to pursue a successful career fronting Yngwie J Malmsteen’s Rising Force, Alcatrazz had not only lost a key songwriter, but also a musician who would turn out to be one of the most influential guitarists of the decade. Although relatively unknown at the time, it was a stroke of genius when Yngwie was replaced by former Frank Zappa guitarist Steve Vai for ‘Disturbing The Peace’ (CD2). Released in 1985, it was led by the single and MTV favourite ‘God Blessed Video’.

Vai left to join David Lee Roth for 1986’s ‘Eat ’Em And Smile’, to be replaced by guitarist Danny Johnson for 1986’s ‘Dangerous Games’ (CD4). Among the originals included on the album was a cover of The Animals’ ‘It’s My Life’, as well as a re-working of ‘Only One Woman’, a song written by The Bee Gees that had been a hit for Graham’s pop duo The Marbles way back in 1968.

This comprehensive collection is completed with ‘Capitol Crimes – The Unreleased Sessions (1985-1986)’ (CD4), a new collection of rare and unreleased tracks recently unearthed from the vaults. New Jimmy Waldo Mixes of ‘A Love Like Yours’, ‘When A Man Loves A Woman’, ‘Set Me Free’, ‘Rider’, are included alongside demo versions of ‘Emotion’, Losing You Is Winning’, ‘Please Call Me’, ‘Blue Boar’, ‘Ohayo Tokyo’ and ‘No Imagination’.


No Parole From Rock ‘N’ Roll (1983)
1 Island In The Sun
2 General Hospital
3 Jet To Jet
4 Hiroshima Mon Amour
5 Kree Nakoorie
6 Incubus
7 Too Young To Die, Too Drunk To Live
8 Big Foot
9 Starcarr Lane
10 Suffer Me
Bonus Track
11 Promo Interview

Disturbing The Peace (1985)
1 God Blessed Video
2 Mercy
3 Will You Be Home Tonight
4 Wire And Wood
5 Desert Diamond
6 Stripper
7 Painted Lover
8 Lighter Shade Of Green
9 Sons & Lovers
10 Skyfire
11 Breaking The Heart Of The City
Bonus Tracks
12 Emotion Demo (Original Vocal)
13 PSA Against Drunk Driving
14 Lowengrin (Instrumental)
15 Run Into The Sun (Instrumental)
16 Rehearsal 1984

Dangerous Games (1986)
1 It’s My Life
2 Undercover
3 That Aint Nothin’
4 No Imagination
5 Ohayo Tokyo
6 Dangerous Games
7 Blue Boar
8 Only One Woman
9 The Witchwood
10 Double Man
11 Night Of The Shooting Star
Bonus Tracks
12 No Imagination (Jimmy Waldo Mix 2020)
13 Lonely Rider
14 Let Me Go (Danny Johnson Scratch Vocal)
15 Dangerous Games (Partial Vocal)
16 Set Me Free (Instrumental)
17 Stand By Me (Instrumental)

Capitol Crimes – The Unreleased Sessions (1985-1986)
1 Emotion (Demo 1985 – New Master)
2 A Love Like Yours (Jimmy Waldo Mix 2020)
3 When A Man Loves A Woman (Jimmy Waldo Mix 2020)
4 Set Me Free (Jimmy Waldo Mix 2020)
5 Rider (Jimmy Waldo Mix 2020)
6 Losing You Is Winning (Demo 1986)
7 Please Call Me (Demo 1986)
8 Blue Boar (Demo 1986)
9 Ohayo Tokyo (Demo 1986)
10 No Imagination (Demo 1986)

Lämna ett svar